

**El Dorado County Fire Chiefs Association** 

P.O. Box 201 Rescue CA, 95672 • Phone: (530) 677-1868 • Fax: (530) 677-9609

## MINUTES Board Workshop for September 27, 2010

Welcome by Thomas Keating, Fire Chief. Over 75 attendees.

Presentation:

- El Dorado County Board of Supervisors gave fire districts a two year window to come up with a permanent funding solution.
- Chiefs can come up with ideas but only district Boards can implement them.
- Reviewed Citygate report.
- Currently Aid-To-Fire is coming out of CSA 7 funds and is about one-half of the amount previously received.
- Explanation of AB-8 procedures.
- Explanation of ERAF-I, ERAF-II, and ERAF-III.

Two Year Plan Concept – Annexation into El Dorado Hills Water District

- Would result in the suspension of ERAFs.
- Would maintain local identity and control.
- Provides an opportunity to renegotiate AB-8 funding.
- Would have district-wide elections.

Brian Veerkamp, Fire Chief

• Discussed AB-8, ERAF, and property tax reapportionment.

José Henriquez, LAFCO Executive Officer

• Gave a basic explanation on how annexation into EDHWD would proceed.

Group Question and Answer Period

- Questioned how fire districts could get a share of Proposition 172 funds. These funds are allocated by the BOS.
- Proposal has the potential for benefiting smaller districts while maintaining local identity and control.
- Concerns about liability to parent organization (EDHWD) such as OSHA violations, lawsuits, etc. EDHWD representative was very clear that they must protect their existing funding. They will not enter into any agreement that would compromise their funding or increase their liability.



El Dorado County Fire Chiefs Association

P.O. Box 201 Rescue CA, 95672 • Phone: (530) 677-1868 • Fax: (530) 677-9609

• Concerns about how to structure proposal to assure local control.

Consensus to have individual boards talk at their October meetings and decide if they want to participate in moving forward with the proposal to annex into EDHWD or come up with an alternative.

Will schedule a date (TBD) to meet again in November

Judie Irwin Frank Clark Jackye Phillips Ken Humphreys **Greg Schwab** Anne Walker Robert L. Gill Ed Courtail Russ Sims Gary Gerren Bill Dekker Brian Veerkamp Alan Clarke Rich Green Rob Janzen Brian Leduc Shiva Frentzen Lucas Shepard Steve Hyd Joe Tyler Bruce Lacher John Pang Kelly Keenan John Moalli Bob Brown Scott M. Gosselin Dave Sonza Lori Veerkamp Dave Johnson C.J. Smith F. Carpenter

## ATTENDEES

PFPD District Garden Valley FPD Diamond Springs **Rescue FPD** Georgetown RFPD **Pioneer Fire** County Fire Pioneer Fallen Leaf Fire Garden Valley Fire EDH Fire/JPA **Cameron Park CSD** Cameron Park CSD PFPD RFPD CP resident ECF L3556 President Meeks Bay **CPFD/CALFIRE** ECF MBFPD CALFIRE AEU Mosquito Georgetown Georgetown Garden Valley El Dorado Hills Cameron Park Rescue Rescue



## El Dorado County Fire Chiefs Association

P.O. Box 201 Rescue CA, 95672 • Phone: (530) 677-1868 • Fax: (530) 677-9609

**Jack Daniels** Erica Sanchez **Brook Rother** Jane Warmack Mark Johnson Jerome Avery Joe Snyder Scott McNeil Jody Gossner **Dave Roberts** Mike Webb **Neil Hillior** Wayne Durrington **Ripley Howe Mike Roberts** Jim O'Camb **Brian Estes** Joe Rose Lewis Ridgeway Debbi Burch **Chris Couper Jim Hartlev Erik Peterson** Todd Cunningham José Henriquez **Tom Harris Bob Davis** Sam Huffman Richard Todd Leah Yaws Mike Gundry Tom Mahach Dr. Richard Boylan Edward Cunha Matt Koht **Richard Smith Rick Todd** Robb Combs John Haverty Sandra Rennert

Marcia Stumpf

Pioneer LAFCO Georgetown Fire Meeks Bay Fire ECF MFD Mosquito FPD **Cameron Park** CALFIRE EDHFD **CALFIRE/Cameron Park Pioneer Fire Pioneer Fire Pioneer Fire** Mt. Democrat **EDHFD** CALFIRE El Dorado Co FPD Latrobe FPD GV Fire Latrobe FD EDHFD Diamond Springs **Diamond Springs** LAFCO Mosquito Mosquito ECF EDC EMSA **Diamond Springs** CDF Firefighters L2881 EDC Fire District Diamond Springs-El Dorado FPD Candidate Diamond Springs-El Dorado RFPD Garden Valley Georgetown **Diamond Springs** Latrobe FPD Pioneer FPD Latrobe Fire



## El Dorado County Fire Chiefs Association P.O. Box 201 Rescue CA, 95672 • Phone: (530) 677-1868 • Fax: (530) 677-9609

John Knight

El Dorado County